The Board is composed of nine members, with one member from Howard County Government. Board members serve three year terms and are responsible for advising on the application and formulation of state policies, procedures and programs that apply to Howard County, and to evaluate the local director of the Department of Social Services, a State agency.

To be eligible for consideration, candidates must be Howard County residents, 18 years of age or older, have an interest in the delivery of social services in Howard County and be able to attend the Board’s meetings which are held on the third Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m.

Board Chair

Vice Chair








Ex Officio

Current Slate of Board Members (thru June 30, 2021):

Melissa Hennessy Teitelbaum Term Expires: 3/1/2024

Shanika Cooper Term Expires: 6/30/2024

Georgea Lee Moore Term Expires: 6/30/2023

Stan Levi Term Expires: 6/30/2023

Alaina Elam Term Expires: 6/30/2024

Ivette Lopez Term Expires: 2/1/2024

Ralph Glover Jr. Term Expires: 2/1/2024

Nailah Brock, PhD Term Expires: 2/1/2024

Rev. Dr. Elizabeth Sapp Jones Term Expires: 2/1/2024

Jackie Scott, Director,

Department of Community Resources and Services (DCRS)

Interested in Being a Board member? Please email a letter of interest and your resume to hcdss.socialserviceboard@gmail.gov . Someone from the board will contact you to inform you of the next steps.